User Rating: 1 / 5

Star ActiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar InactiveStar Inactive

The then Ministry of Justice, (National Cohesion) and Constitutional Affairs (MOJNCCA) was established in 2003 to lead in the reforms initiative, chief among them the formulation of relevant anti-corruption policies and coordination of the fight against corruption. In order to achieve on this mandate and operationalize the “zero tolerance to corruption” policy, a number of initiatives were undertaken, thus:-
•    Enactment of the Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Act, 2003 and establishment of the Kenya Anti-Corruption Commission
•    Enactment of the Public Officer Ethics Act, 2003
•    Appointment of Special Magistrates to try corruption cases
•    Establishment of a Cabinet Committee on Anti-Corruption
•    Strengthening Prosecutions and undertaking reforms in the Prisons, etc

These initiatives largely focused on the enactment and application of the law as well as punishment to the offenders.  It, however, became evident that for the war to be won, there was need for a radical transformation of the mindsets of Kenyans.  It was, therefore, necessary to adopt a three-pronged approach incorporating investigations, prosecutions and preventive services.  To strengthen the latter, H. E. President Mwai Kibaki officially launched the five-year national anti-corruption campaign in Kenya on 23rd July 2003 whose model was similar in manner and magnitude to the campaign mounted against HIV/Aids by the National Aids Control Council. MOJNCCA was directed to spearhead the formulation and implementation of the campaign.

This led to the formation of the National Anti-Corruption Campaign Steering Committee (NACCSC) vide Gazette Notice no. 4124 of 28th May 2004 with the explicit mandate of carrying out a nationwide public education, sensitization and awareness creation campaign against corruption.  The Campaign was launched in Nairobi on 2nd March 2006 by H. E. President Mwai Kibaki. This mandate has since been renewed several times upon expiry.  
The Government, through the current Kenya Gazette Notice no. 6707 of 19th September 2014, reorganized the Committee’s membership to include the National Treasury, State Department for Devolution and Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission, the three being important agencies relevant to the fight against corruption. Other institutions with structures and networks critical to the campaign such as Maendeleo Ya Wanawake Organization, National Youth Council and People Living with Disabilities were also incorporated to enhance the reach. NACCSC is now administratively under the Office of the Attorney General and Department of Justice (OAG & DOJ)